Sr M Severine D Souza BS



Sr M Shalini BS

Members of the Community

 Convent building


 Prayer  ministry

 Teaching of Marriage catechism

Mgr Raymond FC Mascarenhas, the founder, was keen on having a house of the congregation in Bangalore to serve as a nodal centre to facilitate transactions in government departments involving schools and property. During one of his visits in 1955 he met his friend most Rev. Thomas Pothacamury, the Archbishop of Bangalore, along with Sr Priscilla, the Superior General. Fr Mascarenhas presented his desire to have a convent for the sisters in Bangalore and requested the Archbishop for necessary permission and assistance in identifying a suitable site for the mission of the sisters.

Mother Macrina secured permission from the Archbishop of Bangalore and four pioneers Sr Anysia, Sr Lourdes, Sr Julitta, and Ms Dulcine D’Souza the helper arrived in Bangalore on 18th March 1960. They lived in a rented building until the new convent building was constructed. The first community in Bangalore was named “Villa Teresa”. Sr Anysia was appointed as the first Superior of the community and Headmistress of the school. On 15th April 1961 the primary school started functioning with the name Gulabi Primary School under the patronage of St Therese of the Child Jesus. Sr Avia was appointed as Superior and Headmistress. It was upgraded to High School on June 4th 1967 and Sr Therese was appointed as the teacher. New convent building was blessed and inaugurated by Archbishop Arokiaswamy on 3rd December 1977. The convent was renamed “BETHANY CONVENT”.

Bethany convent served as the headquarters of Bangalore region from 1971 to 1986 with Sr Theresia as the first regional superior. Sr Marie Ange was appointed as the Headmistress of the High school. Apart from Educational apostolate, the sisters continued with pastoral apostolate. At present Sr Shalini D’souza is the Superior, Sr Lucina, Sr Juliet, Sr Clerilla, Sr Tressy, Sr Maria Louisa, Sr Sudhira, Sr Joylet, Sr Molly Anna, Sr Monica D’souza, Sr Kalpana, Sr Jyothi Mary, Sr Usha R, Sr Margaret Kalai Stutch and Sr Pavithra Shilpa are the members.

Year of establishment: 19.03.1960



Home | News | Sitemap | Contact Us

Copyright © 2016 - www.bethanycongregation.org . Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

Bethany Generalate
D.K. Dist, Karnataka State
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.