8 Dec 2017



8th Dec 2017 was an auspicious and significant day in the annals of Tanzania Delegation. The triple celebration, namely, the Feast of our Lady of Immaculate conception, installation of the Tanzania Delegation under the patronage of our Lady of Immaculate Conception, the erection of the Pre-novitiate and the initiation of Pre-novices took place on this day.

The necessity of erecting a delegation in Tanzania emerged as the mission had to be carried out under a separate Society with a local person as the head for its management. Though small in membership it had to take up all the administrative activities as in a Province, vocation promotion, formation, training of the sisters and temporal administration such as purchase of land, constructions and maintenance of accounts.

Sr Antonette Coutinho was installed as the first Delegation Superior by Sr Rose Celine the Superior General, Sr Ranjitha as the first Delegation Councillor and Sr Anitha Menezes as the Second Delegation Councillor on 8th December. Sr Namritha was appointed as the Delegation Procurator. Sr Mariette the General Councillor was present on the occasion along with the members of Bethany, Mwanga. The first four candidates of Tanzania, namely, Anitha Nestory, Bernadetha Patris, Clara Ramdhan and Veronica Alex were initiated into the pre-novitiate. The solemn thanksgiving Eucharistic celebration was celebrated by Fr Peter OFM, the parish priest of Divine Mercy Church, Mwanga. He called upon the sisters to imitate the Blessed Mother who responded to God in faith and leaped into the unknown.


 First Delegation team 2017-2021

Presently there are 3 communities under Tanzania Delegation. Bethany, Mwanga in Same Diocese, Bethany, Vikuge, in Dar-es-Salaam, Bethany, Ngurdoto in Arusha Diocese. Bethany, Bwambo established in 22.10.2016 was closed on 1.7.2020.

The inauguration of the Centenary year of the Congregation coincided with the canonical erection Bethany Convent, Vikuge/ Novitiate building the second community in Tanzania in the Archdiocese of Dar-Es-Salaam 0n 16th July 2020. Sr Namritha was appointed as the Superior, Sr Anseline the Novice Directress and Sr Cheriline, the Assistant directress were the members. The erection of Bethany Convent, Ngurdoto took place on 4th March 2021 on the 121st priestly ordination of our revered Founder Servant of God Raymond Francis Camillus Mascarenhas. Sr Leera Maria was installed as the new Superior, by Sr Antonette Coutinho, the Delegation Superior. Presently Tanzania Delegation has 24 members, 16 perpetually professed sisters and 8 temporarily professed all from the soil of Tanzania.

On 9th January 2022 Sr Antonette Coutinho is elected as the Delegation Superior for the second term by Sr Lillis, the Assistant Superior General delegated by Sr Rose Celine, the Superior General, with Sr Anitha Menezes and Sr Vandana Periera as the Councillors. Sr Shanthini is the Delegation Procurator.


Second Delegation Team 2022-


Date of Canonical erection of Tanzania Delegation: 8th Dec 2017





Home | News | Sitemap | Contact Us

Copyright © 2016 - www.bethanycongregation.org . Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

Bethany Generalate
D.K. Dist, Karnataka State
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.